Corazon de Agave Tequila Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/d3/f2/cc/137_corazon-de-agave-tequila-anejo_1314402514.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     February 05, 2007    
 
0
 
85 (9)
30129   0   2   0   8
9 results - showing 1 - 9
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
89
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Piña September 10, 2017
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (260)

Looks like Corazon moved to San Matias distillery, one of my favorite distilleries! I wasn't a huge fan of the old corazon so let's see if there's improvement.

Aroma: A nice aroma of vanilla, and slight caramel.
Initial Taste: A semi oily mouth feel. There's no bitterness on entry and Initial taste of caramel and agave. Slight heat.
Body: A very nice anejo body. Full of caramel, vanilla, and agave. Nice balance.
Finish: A nice anejo finish full of an vanilla agave lingering.

This is a very decent anejo sipper. Well done.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
85
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
84
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
84
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
91
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist December 16, 2013
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

If you're familiar with tequila, you are familiar with NOM 1103, Tequila San Matias. The make a lot of prominent brands like Pueblo Viejo, San Matias and this one: Corazon de Agave. It's maybe more well recognized for it's oddly shaped bottle, but it's well distributed and commonly seen in bars across the US. I reviewed the blanco and the reposado a long time ago and even before the NOM change. I will tell you that the switch to San Matias seemed to do the reposado good. Let's see what it does for the añejo.

Price: $20-40/bottle
Aroma: Cooked agave, oak, light earth and caramel. Fairly basic and not overly sweet.
Initial Taste: Earthy agave is strong up front with some caramel and oak.
Body: The earth is still strong. Some sweeter notes and spice combine for good balance.
Finish: There's some more wood notes on a medium length finish. It's a touch bitter for my liking.

Overall, this is a decent tequila, but not anything that you need to rush out for. There's strong earth and wood notes that make for a bitter (and not sweet) overall profile. If you like that sort of profile, this is a good value buy. For me, I could take or leave Tequila Corazon de Agave.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
84
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
83
Body 
 
87
Finish 
 
83
Enjoyability 
 
83
Price 
 
80
Presentation 
 
88
Reviewed by jzsouthern January 20, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

I was disappointed in this tequila. I tasted it in a flight with Don Julio Anejo and El Jimador Anejo, and I really didn't even want to finish this one. I chugged it first so I could enjoy sipping the other two.

The aroma isn't especially great, and it's harsh on the tongue when it first hits. The finish is smooth but nothing like a truly smooth anejo should be. This is really more in the reposed class in my book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
86
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
91
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
80
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by CS August 05, 2010
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

I generally prefer blancos & reposados, which might be why I liked this tequila as much as I did. The agave flavor is balanced nicely against the flavor from the barrel, where both flavor profiles can be easily distinguished from the other. Slightly sweeter than average smell and taste, goes down smooth and finishes with a lot of warmth. I think this tequila is a good choice for those that might just be getting into anejos and haven't quite developed the palette for more complex anejos that take more flavors from the barrel. I paid $35 for the bottle which seemed very reasonable for the quality.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
77
Aroma-Nose 
 
86
Initial Taste 
 
82
Body 
 
75
Finish 
 
75
Enjoyability 
 
75
Price 
 
50
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by sdnerf February 22, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (53)

Bought 2/22/10, paid $45, I always drink at home from a tall shoot glass. Can't say there was much i liked about this anejo... maybe the bottle but that has a sticker on it. Oh well, sounds a bit harsh I know but I'm just being honest here. To be fair the presentation and nose are not too bad but that isn't enough to compete with all the excellent anejo's out there. Pass on this one.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
87
Initial Taste 
 
87
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
88
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
82
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by El Jefe December 27, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (66)

I almost always taste & review at home with my own bottle but I made an exception with the three Corazones during the holidays at a Mexican restaurant. This amber, yellow anejo revealed more caramel & oak in the nose & first taste than the reposado. Missing was the depth & power from aging I have come to associate with a better anejo. A nice caramel sweetness evolved along with a presence of smoky, spicy agave. The medium/full bodied tequila exhibited more sweet caramel flavors but once again, no depth. Corazon Anejo finished quicker than I would have initially guessed but did roll off smoothly. This was the smoothest of the three but I enjoyed the reposado the most & for the money, better anejo's can be found with not much effort!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
85
Aroma-Nose 
 
84
Initial Taste 
 
84
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
84
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
85
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Piña August 26, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (260)

Tasted on 08/26/08 out of double ball. This anejo was decent. I prefer the anejo over the blanco on this line. In my humble opinion, for an anejo, could still be a little smoother.

Aroma: Cinnamon, spices, and wood.
Initial Taste: Upon entry into mouth, its a little bitter. A thin mouth feel.
Body: Agave, caramel, spices, and wood.
Finish: A very heated finish of short duration.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
75
Aroma-Nose 
 
74
Initial Taste 
 
76
Body 
 
75
Finish 
 
75
Enjoyability 
 
75
Price 
 
75
Presentation 
 
77
Reviewed by Tequila Joe May 27, 2007
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (148)

Corazon Anejo NOM 1440 Tasted 2/14/07. The tequila is golden brown in color and has an moderate floral and earthy aroma. Once you get past the intensity of the nose, you can smell mild notes of fruit and spice. On the tip of the tongue the tequila is mellow and soft with a light agave taste. While the tequila has no bitterness, it has a hint of sweetness. The flavor has moderate agave and earthy attributes which are followed by mild fruit, floral, and vanilla. The tequilas finish is a short duration of flavor followed by a minimal alcohol feeling. Overall, I rated this tequila at the C level.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
88
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
87
Enjoyability 
 
87
Price 
 
89
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Don Ricardo de Hawaii April 24, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (15)

A light anejo with floral overtones but drier than I would like. Lovely bottle that pours easily.

Was this review helpful to you? 
9 results - showing 1 - 9
 
Ordering